P/N: ST0019
Storage > BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station
Design Gallery Specification Support Reviews

BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : eTeknix Date : 2012/08/26

The main area that we have to look at is how the dock performs. Like we would expect, there is going to be a slight amount of loss in performance, but to aid against this, the BlacX 5G comes with full USB3.0 functionality and with performance levels being virtually the same, we can safely say that the dock does not impede the drives performance at all. I will point out though, that whilst this is the case for mechanical drives, don’t expect this to be the case with all SSDs and some of the higher performing drives will suffer some speed loss when docked in here.
Hitting the shelves at a mere £22, the value is all part of a cracking deal and as I’ve said, for something that does exactly as it says on the tin, it’s surely worth a bang for buck award.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : aph networks Date : 2011/09/02

The Thermaltake BlacX 5G is a innovative and convenient hot swappable hard drive docking station that keeps up with lightning fast file transfers, thanks to the latest USB 3.0 implementation.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : Funkykit Date : 2011/08/05

The docking station itself is well constructed and looks nice, it's brushed anodized aluminum top panel adds a classy look to it, while the rest of the dock is quiet unassuming.  Unlike some accesories out there that do their best to leap out at you and drag your eyes to them, the BlacX is content to know that it will fit in nicely on even the classiest of desks.
I am also very pleased that the BlacX 5G comes with all the cables you need to install it, not doing so would have been an issue for me as well as many people.  USB3 cables aren't especially cheap!
Performance wise I was shocked, using my Samsung Spinpoint F1 drive the BlacX 5G did glorious battle with the motherboard SATA6Gbps before finally finishing it off and emerging victorious.  Very impressive Thermaltake!

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : TechwareLabs Date : 2011/03/24

The BlacX 5g is a welcomed upgrade to USB 3.0 from the BlacX Duet which was just USB 2.0.  The benchmarks we did showed us that the USB 3.0 did work as fast as if the same hard drive was connected directly to the motherboard. So essentially with the BlacX product line has taken a drive that is naturally not a hot-swap hard drive and given you the ability to hot swap. Thermaltake has taken it one step further with the BlacX  5G and given  the speed everyone desires. The IT support person who has to go through stacks of SATA drives to find data or needs to image drives can do so quicker than ever before.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : Bay Reviews Date : 2011/02/22

The Thermaltake BlacX 5G ST0019U USB 3.0 Hard Drive Docking Station is highly recommended for anyone who manages computers on a daily basis. You can grab important files faster than ever with 5.0Gbps transfer rates and stop waiting for lengthy file operations to complete. The price of this docking station is very low. In fact, you can pick up a StarTech USB 3.0 PCI-e card and this speedy docking station for less than the cost of a new hard drive. For that reason alone, the Thermaltake BlacX 5G USB 3.0 Hard Drive Docking Station is certainly a tremendous bargain for anyone looking for an ultra high speed, data storage upgrade!

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : The Tech Report Date : 2011/02/07

Newegg is selling the Thermaltake BlacX 5G for $48, which seems like a pretty fair price to pay. The StarTech USB 3.0 docking station we reviewed recently costs $9 more and offers virtually identical performance. Both are good options if you're in the market for a docking station, but the BlacX is clearly the better deal of the two.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : Everything USB Date : 2011/02/05

Thermaltake's latest addition to their venerable BlacX line - the BlacX 5G - is not only USB 3.0 enabled but can accept 2.5" and 3.5" SATA hard drives regardless of their capability including SATA 6GB/s enabled drives. This certainly sounds like the makings of not only a pretty "future proof" USB 3.0 hard drive dock but also pretty darn good one too!

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : Legit Reviews Date : 2011/01/31

The Thermaltake BlacX 5G is the next step in the evolution of a great product as it supports both the USB 3 and USB 2 standard. Of course, though, you will have to have a motherboard that supports USB 3 to get the greatest performance out the unit, but the nice thing is that it will function on a USB 2 controller or acquire a USB 3 PCIE card which is available as well.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : OverclockersOnline Date : 2011/01/15

At first glance a lot of people may not appreciate the usefulness of a hard drive dock, but when you have to access a friend or relatives drive to recover data they are a welcome piece of equipment. Thanks to the latest update to Thermaltake’s BlacX line, the BlacX 5G now utilizes USB 3.0 making it not only handy but fast as well

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : ThinkComputers Date : 2010/12/30
Right now the BlacX 5G sells for around $50 at my favorite online retailer, which considering the speed boost you get is a good price.  Also keep in mind this is one of the only hard drive docks that does support SATA 6G drives. <More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : TweakTown Date : 2010/12/30
Thermaltake has a nearly perfect product with the BlacX 5G. The accessory package is one of the best we've seen with the longer USB 3.0 cable being the standout and the drive covers being the first we've seen to combat drive acoustics. <More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : HardwareLogic Date : 2010/12/30

The Thermaltake BlacX 5G is the new flagship of the BlacX line. It supersedes the original USB2 BlacX and has the same MSRP. While the retail channel is pricing the 5G a bit higher at $50 (Amazon Link), this is the product to get for future proofing.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : Hi Tech Legion Date : 2010/12/27
The Thermaltake BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station performed as expected. USB 3.0 speeds are perfect for extra storage, backups, and spare internal hard drives. <More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : UMLAN Date : 2010/11/16
the transfer speed would be capped as this unit only has USB 3.0 connection. Regardless the USB 3.0 connection you should be able to upload or download files from your hard drives relatively quickly. I would like to comment on the design and structure of the Blac X 5G as I found it to be very similar to previous versions of Blac X. <More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : Big Bruin Date : 2010/11/04

Shopping around for the Thermaltake BlacX 5G USB 3.0 hard drive docking station finds it for sale at several locations, such as Newegg where it is $47.98. It is the only one to specifically support USB 3.0, and the new 6.0 Gbps hard drives for a truly powerful combination of speed.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : BCC Hardware Date : 2010/11/04

At the end of the day its pretty easy to like the BlacX 5G Hard Drive Docking Station and if you're still using an USB 2.0 hard drive dock you'll probably want to make an upgrade to the BlacX 5G (and USB 3.0). The performance, build quality, and ease of use make the Thermaltake BlacX 5G easy for us to recommend and helped it gain our "Editor's Choice - Gold" award.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : NinjaLane Date : 2010/10/27

It is hard not to see the benefits of a HDD docking station.  Backup, transfer, and recover HDD data are all things you can easily do with the BlacX, the 5G just allows you to do them faster than ever before.

<More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : OCC Date : 2010/10/11
The Thermaltake BlacX 5G is an amazing external transfer solution. I was impressed with the early USB 3.0 results at CES and I am even more impressed with them now. The transfer speeds and real world tests were almost dead on with internal and eSATA speeds. <More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : TweakNews Date : 2010/10/08
There's really nothing negative to say about this product. It functions exactly as advertised, doesn't take up a lot of room, and includes a fairly long USB cable which comes in handy. Pricing is right in line with similar products, too. It also supports SATA III hard drives which will provide an even bigger boost in speed. <More>



BlacX 5G HDD Docking Station ST0019
 
Reviewed by : OCIA Date : 2010/10/01
As USB 3.0 gains in popularity we will begin to see it replace USB 2.0 in external storage and other devices where greater bandwidth than that provided by USB 2.0 is required. <More>